Assessment, Course & Treatment (ACT) Prime For Life (PFL)

We are the only approved ACT program in Lewis & Clark and Jefferson Counties.  The Montana Law requires individuals who are convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), or Misdemeanor Dangerous Drugs (MDD), or Underage Drinking and Driving (UDD or .02) to complete the ACT program.

The enrollment process for the ACT program can be completed in just a few hours.  First you need to come to the outpatient office (or call for an appointment in the satellite offices) between 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and fill out the required paperwork, pay a $200.00 deposit, and sign up for the Prime For Life (FAQ section) course.  Please bring a copy of your court referral or citation and be prepared to sign a release of information for your lawyer or public defender or any other referral sources.

The cost for the ACT program is $375.00 with a minimum of $200.00 deposit due at the time of enrollment.  The remaining $175.00 is due before you complete the program.  If you pay the class fee in full at the time of enrollment you will receive a $50.00 discount.

After enrolling into the ACT program you will attend Prime For Life.  This course consists of four three-hour classes held on four consecutive Tuesdays from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  PFL is a motivational intervention course used in a group setting and will, hopefully, prevent you from receiving another DUI.  It will increase your perception of risks of drug and alcohol use and assist you in developing a self-directed plan to protect what you value.  Prime For Life is on the national registry of evidenced based programs.  If you want more information about Prime for Life you can visit www.primeforlife.org

Participants must attend all four classes, turn in all required paperwork, and pay the fee in full in order to schedule your exit assessment appointment.  The assessment will be with a Licensed Addiction Counselor and will take approximately 90 minutes.  The exit assessment meeting is designed to determine if you need chemical dependency treatment based on all the information gathered.

The following information is based on Montana’s Law.

  • Treatment is mandatory for any 2nd or subsequent offense upon completion of the Prime For Life.
  • You have the right to obtain, at your own expense, a second chemical dependency assessment if you disagree with our recommendations.
  • To request a hearing with the sentencing court if you disagree with our treatment recommendations.
  • To attend a treatment facility of your choice.

The following is information regarding a probationary license.

  • You must have the approval of the sentencing court.
  • Pay a reinstatement fee to Records and Driver Control Bureau.  Call 406.444.3292.
  • If you are seeking a probationary driving privilege and you have a second or subsequent DUI or BAC you are required to use an interlock device on your vehicle.
  • If you refused to submit to a breath test and/or provided a blood sample you are not eligible to a restricted probationary driving license.

You may download an Informational Brochure here.